Raw tortillas: My new favorite road trip snack.

I was so hoping to start blogging for VeganMoFo on Sunday but I was out of town and didn’t have time to make a recipe for my theme! I got back in town last night so the theme will play out this week. I need to get my shiz together, pronto. Until then, since I was on a road trip, I’ll give you the recipe to my new healthy road trip snack. If you’ve been on a road trip before you know the best snacks are chips, crackers, candy. It’s not very easy to eat healthy, at least for me. Well, this time I decided to make raw tortillas to eat in the car with avocado. Soooo good.

20130903-151148.jpg

For the tortillas:
-3 C fresh corn off the cob or thawed frozen corn
-1 1/2 C red or yellow pepper
-3/4 C flax seed, finely ground
-1 tbsp lime juice
-1 tbsp chili powder
-2 tsp cumin
-1 1/2 tsp sea salt

1. Food process corn and pepper and then add remaining ingredients and process until almost smooth.
2. Spread on two teflex sheets or two pieces of parchment paper the size of the trays.
3. Dehydrate at 115 degrees 3-4 hours on one side and then flip over, remove teflex sheet or parchment paper, and dehydrate for another 2 hours.
4. Cut to desired size pieces.

Usually I use these with avocado/guacamole, tomato, onion, and sprouts to make wraps. For something easy in the car I recently brought an avocado and used my fingers to tear away some of the skin on the side and used a spoon to scoop some out onto the tortilla. I was also riding shot gun so it may have been easier for me to do all of that. An easier option would be to make some guacamole so you can just dip the tortillas in!

When eating raw, these are a “must have on hand” for me. Car ride or not. Super easy to make and yummy!

Other easy travel snacks I use:

-Premade trail mix
-Fruit
-Vega shake packet with water
-Hummus and veggies
-Raw and/or vegan bars. My husband can’t go in a trip without Clif bars!
-My mom will get packets of brown rice and Indian food packets for an easy vegan meal.
-Cans of soup or beans

What are some other healthy foods you use for traveling?!

One thought on “Raw tortillas: My new favorite road trip snack.

Leave a Reply

