Raw Split Pea Soup

Image 

I like to refer to this soup as the Give Peas a Chance Soup.  I could NOT stop eating it and wish I had tripled the recipe and next time I probably will! I’m not a huge fan of peas but having them blended up takes away the texture that most people stray away from and for those that don’t like the taste of peas, no need to worry! The cumin in the recipe overpowers the pea taste, in a great way, and gives the soup more of a mexican taste and the corn gives you the perfect little pop of sweetness.  I definitely wouldn’t say it tastes like a tradition split pea soup.. that why I like to call it by a different name. 🙂 So… Give peas a chance! 

-2 cups fresh or frozen petite peas (if frozen, thaw before using)
-1 cup chopped celery
-2 tablespoons chopped onion
-2 small cloves garlic
-1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
-2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
-1 teaspoon ground cumin
-1 cup filtered water
-1 teaspoon sea salt, more or less to taste
-Dash of cayenne pepper
-Kernels from one medium ear of corn (I used a cup of frozen corn, thawed.)
-1 tablespoon of fresh parsley or cilantro, chopped

1. Place everything in a blender and process until smooth.
2. Mix corn in bowls of soup, saving some for garnish.
3. Garnish with extra corn and fresh parsley or cilantro.

Per serving: 214 calories, 7.5 g fat, 1 g saturated fat, 0 g cholesterol, 8 g protein, 28 g carbohydrates and 8 g of fiber. 

I couldn’t find petit peas so I used green. I’m not too sure what the difference between them are but it was great with green and maybe it’d be even better with petit? I also didn’t have cilantro or parsley on hand but I’m sure that it would have been good… I love them both!

I got this recipe from Foods for Long Life.

Leave a Reply

